Art and the Desert

A week and a half ago TMA’s CAS (Tucson Museum of Art’s Contemporary Art Society) visited The Barrio Collection, the glass studio of Katja Fritzsche1 and her husband, Danny Perkins, who recently moved from the Seattle area, Whidbey Island.  Pilchuck Glass School2, where Danny was a guest lecturer, is right there.bobcat + purple 007

Danny Perkins is considered by critics to be one of the most innovative glass artists working today. His works are considered to be masterworks of contemporary sculpture. Each of Perkin’s pieces demonstrates his great skill in the use of both color and form. Perkins consistently translates his unique vision into great art.

Perkin’s glass art is represented in major public and private collections in the United States, Europe and Asia including:
* National Museum of American Art, Renwick Gallery, Washington DC
* Corning Museum of Art, Corning, NY
* Oakland Museum of Art, Oakland,CA3

My photo shows two of his huge glass works flanking one of his paintings.  This photo doesn’t really show off the glass.  See the Duane Reed Gallery web page for marvelous photos4.

Katja does cast glass, much in the same way I did bronze in the lost wax class I took. (See my blogs from a year ago re the lost wax process.4)  Her present work is influenced by Sumi-e.

glass 003glass 010glass 002In the first photo you can see the wax bird and the plaster cast, in the second a wax composition on plywood, in the third, a finished work, the light shining through the glass.

Bobcat

bobcat + purple 016

The large bobcat visited early the morning of Memorial Day, before I had even made my coffee.  My cat acts as a pointer; although she doesn’t hold her tail upright and lift her right paw, when she comes to attention, I check out what has appeared in the yard.  This bobcat came into the yard from the back and rested on the bridge over the small wash in the yard, behind the rosemary, so I couldn’t get a photo.  Then it took off, muscles rippling, and I rushed to the guest bedroom for this shot unfortunately in shade.

young bobcat 009Then in the evening the cat perked up again – a very young bobcat walked onto the bedroom patio.  I slid off the bed and started to take photos.  When it finally turned towards us, it didn’t even bother looking at me  (it acted as though I, with camera, was just a piece of furniture) but its eyes got large looking at my cat with her hair sticking up and her tail poofed up.  Then my cat started growling, and the small bobcat slunk out of the yard.

young bobcat 012young bobcat 013

 

Blooming, May 24, 2015

bobcat + purple 019

bobcat + purple 021The Mexican primroses are joyfully flowering pink, the texas rangers, happy with the increased humidity we had last week (and that tiny bit of rain),  have burst out in their dark violet blossoms.  The gaillardias add a nice touch of red-orange to my wildflowers.

bobcat + purple 023

And some blue flowers volunteered in my vegetable bobcat + purple 024garden, so I dug them up (along with a couple of the volunteer snapdragons) and put them in a pot on the bedroom patio. I think they’re veronicas.  Maybe I had bought some for a pot years ago, and the seeds got into my compost.

Birds

I haven’t seen the western screech owl that my neighbor says lives in his yard, but I hear the call after dark.  (This web site has the call: http://www.owlinstitute.org/western-screech-owl.html)

It’s mating season and the birds aren’t thinking right.  A goldfinch bounced off my kitchen door, but it was still alive, just woozy, so I put it on a twig in the acacia tree.

bobcat + purple 014This one (a house sparrow?) didn’t make it.  It had smacked into the bedroom sliding door, where I do not have those decals which reflect ultraviolet sunlight. (This ultraviolet light is invisible to humans, but glows like a stoplight for birds.)  I have decals on my kitchen windows and the windows for the living and dining rooms.

1http://www.katjafritzsche.com/
2http://www.pilchuck.com/
3http://www.glassart.net/artists/perkins/
4http://www.duanereedgallery.com/Artists%20Pages/Perkins/perkins.html
5https://notesfromthewest.wordpress.com/2014/05/07/wax/

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Art and the Desert”

  1. Mitchell Cliff Anderson Says:

    Lynne… where did you get the decals that seem to work? Such sadness and I have a lot of glass…. Thanks. Mitch

    • notesfromthewest Says:

      Wild Bird Store – 3 locations in Tucson

      First I got silhouette of hawk. Different store didn’t have it so got maple leaves – no diff. Not perfect but cuts down dead birds significantly.

  2. Richard Kizu-Blair Says:

    Your bird is likely a Verdin, very common in your area.

  3. Jim Says:

    Lovely young hungry bobcat . A German girl friend kept a pet ocelotn, Nina, for many years insider her house. She snacked birds and rodents.
    We have many large windows. Several times a month quail and other birds are killed. Perhaps they suffer from less than perfect eyesight. Our gray foxes come around at night to enjoy a free meal.

Leave a Reply

