Mostly plants

Picked from my garden yesterday: lots of arugula, spinach and peas.  Eight pea plants but after shelling the pods, only a cup and a half.  Not only is my refrigerator crisper overflowing (from the CSA greens), but my two composters are almost full from kitchen trimmings!  Am just starting to dig it into my garden.  But still have to wait for a few items to ripen.  Seems funny that I pulled dandelions a week ago and got a bunch of dandelion greens from the CSA (albeit professional dandelion greens) last week.  Pulled London rocket, a weed that is growing crazy around town with our winter rains – it’s also called also called wild arugula, and my garden is replete with domesticated arugula.

Made a soup, from a new recipe, with my peas and spinach, lamb meatballs, and lemon (did I mention that friend N had given me two dozen lemons from her tree?) but it was thickened with rice flour which gave it that shiny appearance mustardthat Chinese soups have that have been thickened with cornstarch.   Plus I added bland leafy greens  (yes – from the CSA) that I needed to use up.  Now I have three servings of a soup which I don’t like – what a waste of those peas.  Was it because of the lamb, the bland greens (which they told me today, when I asked, are a leaf mustard, shown here), or the rice flour?

Just found out that I can put my CSA membership on hold!  I should do that every other week.  Either that or I have to start eating salad for breakfast too.  Today I picked up bunches of Beets, Broccolini, Carrots, Purple Top Turnips, and I’Itoi Onions, and Navel Oranges (3), Romaine Lettuce (2 heads), Sweet Potatoes (3).  Making a turnip frittata for dinner, and a salad, of course.

Hawks

HeneryhawkI have wondered if my cat has been spending more time indoors as the Cooper’s hawk (which is also called a chicken hawk, but doesn’t look at all like Looney Tunes’ Henery Hawk, shown here) has been sitting on the parapet of my house, and in the large mesquite tree next to the back yard.  One it even swooped diagonally across my deck, under the ceiling!  But I think a cat is too large and feisty for a Cooper’s.  Yesterday I saw two hawks in the mesquite.  Spring mating, I gather.  (Too difficult to take a photo through the branches.)

Cooler weather

After a few weeks of temps in the low 80’s, high 70’s, today’s high of only 58° (because of the rain) is a bit of a change.  But heard on the radio this weekend that areas of the northeast, with the windchill factor included, would be 30° below.  My condolences to my friends back east! This from Saturday:

Hundreds of daily record lows and at least three all-time record lows were set as a frigid air mass with a connection to Siberia gripped the central and eastern United States with dangerously cold conditions. Friday morning brought the most widespread and intense cold of the winter to many areas, sending temperatures into the 30s below zero as far south as Kentucky.
http://www.weather.com/storms/winter/news/arctic-blast-record-lows-midwest-south-northeast

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

