Tucson Festival of Books 2014

The Tucson Festival of Books1 will be this weekend March 15-16, 2014 at the University of Arizona Campus.  What not to miss:

Justice Sandra Day O’Connor

  • The History of the Supreme Court, Civic Engagement and our National Parks  Sat, Mar 15, 11:30 am – 12:30 pm
    Panelists: Milton Chen, Sandra Day O’Connor
  • signing her book The Horse Lover Sat, Mar 15, 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm and Sun, Mar 16, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Scott Turow
  • King of Courtroom Suspense  Sat, Mar 15, 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm

Three panels w/ Ishmael Beah, who wrote A Long Way Gone, Memoirs of a Boy Soldier (which I read)

  • Delving into Fiction: Debut Novels  Sat, Mar 15, 10:00 am – 11:00 am
    Panelists: Ishmael Beah, Anthony De Sa, Kevin Kwan, Anthony Marra  Moderator: Douglas Mitchell (a judge in town I know)
  • Love of the Land — The Importance of Place in Fiction  Sat, Mar 15, 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm
    Panelists: Ishmael Beah, Andre Dubus, Masha Hamilton
  • Fiction: The Wreckage of War  Sun, Mar 16, 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm
    Panelists: Ishmael Beah, Anthony Marra, Roxana Robinson
Richard Russo, Pulitzer Prize-winning American novelist who wrote Empire Falls
  • A Little Dickens: three authors discuss his impact on their work  Sat, Mar 15, 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm
    Panelists: Craig Johnson, Anne Perry, Richard Russo
  • Richard Russo on Memoirs Sun, Mar 16, 11:30 am – 12:30 pm
  • Richard Russo and Luis Alberto Urrea in Conversation  Sun, Mar 16, 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm

and more of Luis Alberto Urrea2,3, who wrote The Hummingbird’s Daughter

  • Uncharted Terrains: Critical Issues in the Borderlands  Sat, Mar 15, 11:30 am – 12:30 pm
    Panelists: Anna Ochoa O’Leary, Luis Alberto Urrea, Scott Whiteford
  • Writing the Women in Our Lives  Sat, Mar 15, 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm
    Panelists: Jamie Ford, Nancy Horan, Luis Alberto Urrea
  • Festival Favorite Luis Urrea — What Makes Him Tick?  Sun, Mar 16, 11:30 am – 12:30 pm

Poet Laureate Alberto Álvaro Rios

  • Poetry Readings by Alberto Álvaro Rios and Rebecca Seiferle  Sat, Mar 15, 10:00 am – 11:00 am
  • Poetry In Three Languages   Sat, Mar 15, 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm
    Panelists: Briceida Cuevas Cob, Alberto Alvaro Ríos, Ofelia Zepeda

Art Class

Have not been writing much in my blog ’cause I’ve been too busy with an art class at Pima, Lost Wax Sculpture Casting.

I realized that I tell my math students that they should put in three hours on homework for every hour in class.  I have 4 hrs of lost wax class a week which means I should be doing 12 hours out of class a week!  Course, I was doing only about two.  Asked if I could audit, but he said no, as half of the people in the class are taking it for “fun” and he wouldn’t get funded.  So now I’m going to two open labs a week to put in another 8 hours.

But need to do yardwork I’ve been neglecting, as well as cleaning, as the house is still up for sale.  (With the weather being nice, house has been open, as for the Open House last weekend, which means tons of dust, and as I haven’t been brushing my cat in two weeks, lots of cat hairs.)  Plus had cousin Laura in twice, going and coming from Phoenix to pick up more stuff (inc four goats!) that they hadn’t taken to NC on their move in January.  Way overbooked and stressing on the art class.

He wants us to be creative, not just doing casts of our hands!  Did a tiny sheep with peppercorn size balls for wool for my first (must be small) project, and his legs fell off, plus half his face was gone.  Then I tried to weld (gas tungsten arc welding,  also lost wax 006known as tungsten inert gas – TIGwelding, is an arc welding process that uses a non-consumable tungsten electrode to produce the weld) a dot on his face and it stuck on his ear, which I had to saw off.  Then drilled holes to insert new legs, sandblasted him, and so on.

Thought to do a dragonfly, as the woman next to me in class does origami in paper and dips them in wax.  He said wings too flimsy (and those legs will no doubt fall off when I remove the plaster). But googled bronze dragonflies and hundreds of people have done them.  Tried to do a Möbius strip, but wax either too hot and it slumped, or too hard and it cracked.  Same with clay, as we can do clay, cast in plaster, pour in wax, etc.  Tried a small horse, a la Butterfield (ok, not creative) and as soon as the wax hardened, it fell apart.  (A woman in the class, who has taken it many times, did a beautiful lifelike horse about 8″ long, and she has done a mountain goat – great – and other animals.)  Lots of people doing stick figures, but that’s been done thousands of times.  (Wish I cold even do a fake Giacometti.)  Thought of a bronze tumbleweed, as it would burn out, but checked online and many people have done that.  (Still may try it.)

CougarPourSo now I’m doing an egg carton and a few egg heads.  Gating and venting the egg carton is so hard!  Went to dip it in plaster last night.  First four vents broke.  (Those are the ones that let out the air so the bronze will fill even small details.)  Fixed them.  Did a second dip.  Both gates broke!  (Those are the ones that the bronze flows into.)  Aargh!  I haven’t taken any photos; this from the internet.  The cup at the top funnels the bronze through the gates to what will be the final casting.

I do this to myself…

Arizona Opera

I hadn’t gone to Arizona Opera for maybe 25 years because it was so dreadful, but one of the women on our Italy trip is on the board and said that I should reconsider, so I said I’d go to one.  La Bohème was very good!   Unfortunately, however, quite pricey (three seats at the edge of the balcony for $25, then $45, $60, $75, $90, $105, $125 – think I got an OK seat in the balcony for $75).  Decided that La Traviata would break my budget (another house repair…), even though it’s one of my favorites.

1https://tucsonfestivalofbooks.org/
2https://notesfromthewest.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/book-festival/
3https://notesfromthewest.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/tucson-festival-of-books/

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Tucson Festival of Books 2014”

  1. Kim D. Blair, P.E. Says:

    The art project sounds extremely challenging! I can’t imagine the mess that I would make.

Leave a Reply

