Seen Today

Saturday, February 9, 2013

This morning I awoke to rain.  When the sun came out a hummingbird zipped along the rosemary.  A friend called and said that there was snow on the Catalinas, but I can’t see them from my house; in the afternoon when I went out it was gone.  The clouds look foreboding; we may get more rain.

5:45 pm

A very large bobcat just walked across my bedroom patio, at least four times my cat’s size, with paws about ten times as large.  I was so engrossed in the newspaper that I only noticed the motion as he strode behind the chaise.  Of course I grabbed my camera, but he didn’t pause for a photo op, just continued through my fence to the wash.  My cat was sound asleep at my feet.

When I left the house at 6 pm the Catalinas were larger than usual, a rosy pink, with sharp shadows of dusty blue.  The grey-blue clouds above them were color-coordinated, illuminated to pink beneath by the setting sun.

Monty Python Accents

It’s not insomnia; I just often wake up in the middle of the night.  If I can’t get right back to sleep I turn on the radio, and at three in the morning NPR runs the BBC.  So the other night I heard two guys with Monty Python accents discussing Barcelona soccer star Lionel Messi earning an estimated $43.5 million.  I thought that this must be some Monty Python joke, or maybe part of my dream.

But, in the light of day, I googled him and found that his wages and bonuses were “only” $15.8 million, but he also had $27.7 million in endorsements1.  Then I googled highest earning American athletes including endorsements and found The 50 highest-earning American Athletes2.  Last year, the boxer, Floyd Mayweather, who was unranked a year ago, scored two huge pay-per-view paydays to earn $85 million without a single endorsement. tiger + girl

He beat Tiger, who only got $59.4M for 2012. ($4.4M in winnings, $55M in endorsements.  Guess the wife v. girlfriend brouhaha has blown over.  Nobody’s paying attention to his latest blond, a 22-year old!)

1http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2012/mar/20/report-messi-tops-money-earnings-with-435m/
2http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forbes%27_list_of_world%27s_highest-paid_athletes

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Seen Today”

  1. Price Says:

    Good luck with the bobcats. Lead article in LATExtra today about bobcat poachers not too far from our place – Joshua Tree. Poachers trapping on private as well as private lands. One woman who ‘tracks’ (chronicles) families reports 7 of 8 vanishing in recent period – still hears the kitten crying for family. (see L A Times, LATExtra Section, 2/11/13).

    pk

    • notesfromthewest Says:

      People around here, in general, like the wildlife. A friend had a mom bobcat bring her three kits into her yard to play around the picnic table. The friend got good photos. I hate to hear of the poachers! If the woman who heard the kits crying for family called a wildlife rescue in your area, those kits could be raised. Here the Desert Museum can tell you who to call. (When my daughter – when she was young – found an injured bird, the Desert Museum directed us to a rescue person. My brother, in Sonoma Valley, works with a raptor rehabilitation center. A friend, when she lived in Colorado, worked with orphaned racoons, which included teaching them to catch crayfish in her cattle ponds, and teaching them to raid her chicken coop for eggs!)

Leave a Reply

