Who would you rather have babysit your children?

Obama or Romney?

When the ABC News/Washington Post poll put that question to registered voters last week, 49 percent chose President Obama, 36 percent Governor Romney.

Then the five in the NPR newsroom discussed all US Presidents.

… with two votes out of five, Abe Lincoln wins. He is the top babysitter pick among past presidents in our informal and completely silly poll.
http://nhpr.org/post/which-president-would-make-best-babysitter

Boy, am I ready for the election to be over.  No more polls.  No more commercials or the discussion of commercials or in-depth analysis of twitter feeds.  Obama and Romney’s carbon footprints must be terrible for this last week, but they sure have racked up frequent flier miles!

Non sequitur: Am looking forward to seeing Daniel Day-Lewis as Lincoln.

Bean eaters

The two coyotes were eating the mesquite beans again the other evening, but were nervous, probably due to the sound of shots, actually the driving range across the wash.  So with my first photo, they heard the click, looked up and, seeing me, ran in two directions.  (Meet you back at the den.)

Have been taking photos of birds at my birdbath.  Here’s the Gila woodpecker.

And I liked this late afternoon photo of the yard from my bedroom.  (Cat perched on the stairs, watching the birdbath.)  That tiny bit of red behind the cat is my neighbor’s gorgeous bougainvillea.

Intelligent Design

Anyone who has had his or her back or hip or knee go out will question Intelligent Design.  I know these injuries are part of planned obsolescence, like the “rust out” screw on your car, or the date on the can of food, but now that we’re living past our shelf life of 40, I think that engineers could do better at backs, hips, and knees.

(They have invented robotic exoskeletons, but they’re primarily for war.  See my blog – https://notesfromthewest.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/the-future-is-already-here/)

Yeah, I’m writing this ‘cause my good knee gave out.  All I was doing was demonstrating a Taekwondo high kick for my grandkids (the boys had dressed as Power Rangers for Halloween) and with the twist my left knee buckled and I fell.  Could be an ACL (Anterior Cruciate Ligament) injury:

If you tear your anterior cruciate ligament, you may have the sensation of your knee giving out or buckling. You may even hear a popping sound.

I did hear a popping sound.  Luckily no searing pain, but if I turn wrong it buckles again.  Staying away from yard work and exercise classes until I see the doc tomorrow.

I have a minor tear in the meniscus of my right knee (a weight-lifting injury) and may have a Baker’s cyst (a buildup of joint fluid – synovial fluid -that forms a cyst) that feels like a rug burn on the back of that knee.   The cyst can’t really be fixed they say.  Aspirating the fluid would simply result in the creation of more fluid.  Intelligent Design – hah!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Who would you rather have babysit your children?”

  1. Lyn Says:

    Thank goodness for Medicare!

  2. Jim Says:

    “Whole Food Guide to Strong Bones” , by Annemarie Colbin is one of best sources I know for bone maintenance and repair.

Leave a Reply

