Photos

Finally figured out the close-up focus on my camera.  This lovely Western Spotted Orb weaver Spider off my patio.

The Giant Swallowtail butterfly (its wings the worse for wear) had flitted off the flower and was drinking water from the sprinkler.  (Click and you can see droplets of water on its eye, back, and wings.)

A Pearl Crescent butterfly was much smaller.

This praying mantis had been watching me.  He just turned away.

Missed the young coyote on my spa deck this morning – camera wouldn’t turn on.  Must remember to recharge the battery more often.  When I did get the camera on, the coyote had gone behind the wall to the front of the house.  I went upstairs but the front door made such a squeak , and he was so close, that he dashed off.  (Should have looked through the office window first!)

This rabbit was checking out my yard yesterday evening, no coyote in sight.

Double blooms

Did we always have plants blooming in the spring and fall?  My barrel cactus had recently blossomed, after the saguaro’s second flowering, and here is a photo of my neighbor’s barrel’s blooms (with a tiny bug on a bottom petal), which I can see from my office window.  And a photo of one of my red birds of paradise (with a tiny bug on a stamen).

The Rich

Let me tell you about the very rich. They are different from you and me. – Fitzgerald

 This kind of divisiveness, this attack of success, is very different than what we’ve seen in our country’s history. We’ve always encouraged young people: Take a shot, go for it, take a risk, get the education, borrow money if you have to from your parents, start a business. – Romney at Otterbein University in Ohio

Gee, why didn’t I think of that? – Julian Castro

When a high school student in Youngstown asked him what he would do to make college more affordable for families like his, Governor Romney didn’t say anything about grants or loan programs that are critical to millions of students getting their education … He said ‘the best thing I can do for you is to tell you to shop around.’
I want to make sure everybody understands, not everybody has parents who have the money to loan. That may be news to some folks, but it’s the truth. – Obama at Capital University in Bexley, Ohio

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Photos”

  1. Jim Says:

    Absolutely beautiful!

  2. Jim Says:

    America’s notoriously deplorable educational system is known to be unrelated to wealth. This systematic talk about wealth is political propaganda – indoctrination of the average and below average voters with beliefs which gain their support.

Leave a Reply

