Coyote

Thursday, July 12, 2012

4:30 The young coyote is back in the yard, drinking from my drip system.

Sunday

My daughter and family are down from Chandler for a few days.  Took them all out to Breakers Water Park today.  Used to go there when my son and daughter were young! http://www.breakerswaterpark.com/

I thought it quite pricey; didn’t know how all of the families there could afford it.  Then a friend told me how much it costs to go to Disneyland today:  1-Day 1-Park Ticket –  Ages 3 to 9  $81; Ages 10 & Up  $87.

Because I grew up in Detroit and my maternal grandmother lived in Los Angeles, we visited her, but could only afford it every four years.  And every time we’d see her we’d go to Disneyland.  I was there the first year it opened!

Here is a photo I took of a conestoga wagon ride, with my Brownie Instamatic.  Imagine a ride going that slowly!  And a photo of my brother and me with two people in Tomorrowland.

When my kids were little we took them a few times.  Who can afford the prices today?  Ah, but back to Breakers:


Rented the double tube to go down the slides with the kids.  (Finn wouldn’t go down with me in the free tubes because they were pink!)

Four hours there and all three kids were great.   (Finn is hiding in the family photo.)  My son-in-law has to wear a long-sleeved shirt as he has the skin of a redhead, and burns even easier than we blondes.

The weather was gorgeous despite storm warnings.  (It’s 4:30 and thundering now.)  Only 90°, but the weather channel says Feels like 92°F because the humidity is up to 60%.

Except for monsoon season, July and August, our humidity is often negative – no moisture at all in the air so it has to suck the moisture out of you!

This section with a shallow pool for the little ones was not there 25 years ago.  Lots of young men watching their kids.  Love that.

Texas Ranger

The rain and the high humidity bring on the Texas Ranger blooms.  (This photo of my neighbor’s, next to my palo verde.)

I wait until bloom time to trim mine, so I can put the flowers in a vase.  The blossoms don’t last long as cut flowers, but they look gorgeous, and then I trim again.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Coyote”

  1. Jim Says:

    I suppose that is Shadow, the same young coyote. I like the way he watches you out of the corner of his eye, and listens to your sounds with one ear pointed at you. He/she has a very hard life ahead. Such young animals are naturally trusting of other species, unless they have been conditioned by a parent to fear them.

  2. Kim Blair Says:

    I love the Brownie photos. I ithink that Disneyland opened on Mom & Dad’s wedding day. The prices are scarey.

    I can sympathize witj not wanting to ride the pink tube. 🙂

Leave a Reply

