The Heat!

Yesterday’s High was 100° at 1:45pm when I was out trimming my mesquite tree (for Monday’s brush pick-up).  But it was 104° in Washington, DC!  My friends in the DC area did not have interrupted power during last week’s storms, but did tell me that the technical term for the storm was derecho.

Derecho (from Spanish:  meaning “straight”) – A line of intense, widespread, and fast-moving windstorms and sometimes thunderstorms that moves across a great distance and is characterized by damaging winds.

NPR just said that Bloomington, Indiana was the hottest in the nation at 105°, but Phoenix is 109° even though weather.com says Feels like 103°!  Even Lansing, Michigan, home of Michigan State University, where I got my first degree, was 103° Friday, an all-time record!  Check out the videos here, particularly iWitness: Derecho Takes Down Trees:

Torrid Heat: 4,500 Record Highs and Counting
http://www.weather.com/news/weather-forecast/record-heat-triple-digits

And a wildfire in Michigan’s northern peninsula, of all places!  My old college roommate lives up there.  Her husband wrote:

Yes, It burned within 100 yards of our place, but we escaped any damage.  Twenty one thousand acres were burned, including the entire west side of our lake and the NW corner. The third worst fire ever in Michigan. We were evacuated for 9 to 10 days.  We feel very fortunate. We never want to experience this again!

Plus:  Smoke from Wyoming’s Fontenelle Fire was visible aboard the International Space Station on June 27.
http://www.msnbc.msn.com
/id/48105482/#.T_jTmPVCOSo

But who could blame global warming?

The Bat

Today when I was trimming my hedge I noticed a bat hanging from the vine that covers the front of the house.  Isn’t he cute?  A Mexican free-tailed bat.  Bat Night was May 19th.  Sorry that I missed it.

Back by popular demand, the Rillito River Project hosts the 5th Annual Bat Night, this time in the spring to mark the arrival of our nocturnal neighbors for their summer stay in Tucson. Free and open to the public. Welcome the Bats to Tucson Saturday, May 19th at 6:00pm in the Rillito riverbed just east of the Campbell Avenue Bridge.

 This year, 140 students from Rio Vista Elementary School, led by nationally acclaimed choreographer Barbea Williams, will entertain the crowd with their very own Bat Dance and teach us the Bat Dance too! At sunset, watch 45,000 Mexican Free-Tailed bats fly out from under the Campbell Avenue Bridge to forage for food.

Magazines

Architectural Digest has just sent me a Welcome Back Discount Rate of $12 a year for “selected professional”.  Plus two free gifts.  That seems like a good deal ‘cause I can trade in each magazine (within the month) to Bookman’s for $1 credit.

The New Yorker magazine is offering me a Welcome Back Discount Rate on only $25 for a 25-issue subscription.  Plus they’ll give me a BONUS of 5 additional issues FREE if I sign up online.  Problem is, I still have a stack of at least a dozen New Yorkers from 2011 that I haven’t finished reading.  I always read the current articles right away, but the fiction, for example, is never out of date.  How do people in New York get through one a week?  I could handle it if it were a monthly!

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “The Heat!”

  1. Jim Says:

    Lynne, from your bat’s isolation and odd resting spot, I suspect it is very sick.

    You might enjoy The Economist; it is British based, and tries to be objective.

    Could you design an Amazon tree house – up above the canopy?

  2. Robin Hood Bingo Says:

    I simply stumbled upon your site and enjoyed your posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing.

Leave a Reply

