Fourth of July

What a wonderful Fourth of July!  It started raining the previous night, and it rained off and on all day.  Boy, did the desert need it!  And stopped , just in time for my outdoor BBQ, the air soft and cool (72°!)  After dinner we went next door to my neighbor’s new deck, which has a southern view that mine doesn’t, and watched the Starr Pass fireworks, a few blocks away.    (I forgot to grab my new camera, which even has a setting for fireworks!)  Lovely evening.

I startled three deer the other morning, under the mesquite tree outside my fence, no doubt enjoying the shade and eating mesquite pods.  Couldn’t get any closer than this for a photo, as they started to bolt.

A roadrunner walked across the driveway this afternoon, as I was on the computer.  It seems to be his usual route.  Today he had a lizard in his beak.

Sunday night as I sat on the desk at dusk, talking to my brother on the phone, about a dozen nighthawks (which are not raptors) flew about, catching bugs.  Not enough energy to tromp downstairs to get my camera.

Last Tuesday and Wednesday the clouds collected in the late afternoon in practice for the July/August monsoons, the thunder rumbled, and a few drops of water spattered, not even enough to cool us down.  After that the temperatures went back to 106°.

As I was getting ready for work this morning a very young coyote strolled up to my bedroom door and looked in.  He was walking away as I grabbed for my camera.  He was so cute.  His ears were as large as the deer’s!  Reminded me of the book I read, The Daily Coyote by Shreve Stockton.

Begging out of exercise class tomorrow morning to take advantage of this slightly cooler weather to do yard work.  Quarterly brush pick-up on Monday and I want to get my money’s worth.  Trimmed one palo verde so far, and cut a bunch of dead branches off an acacia in the yard.   Still need to do my bi-annual  trimming of my feathery cassia hedge.  Doing that gives a lot of exercise for my upper arms.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Fourth of July”

  1. Lyn Says:

    Wow! He was skinny enough to get through your fence…

  2. Jim Says:

    Lovely nature photography…. The way he is walking and looking at you suggests that he has learned to trust you. Call him Shadow and keep us posted – as in the Daily Coyote.

Leave a Reply

