My Attack Cat

I was out front yesterday, working on digging out a drip system PVC pipe that needed a patch, and my cat had come around from the back yard to keep me company.  I heard a flurry of wings and turned around to yell at her not to bobcat 4-12chase birds, but the cat two yards away was not my housecat, but a young bobcat, about twice the size of my pet.

I told it to keep away from my cat, it studied me a minute and then took off across the next-door neighbor’s yard, with my cat chasing, tail puffed out and all hairs on end!  I yelled at her to come back and she only did when the bobcat was past the neighbor’s yard.  I tried to catch her to put her in the house, but she slipped back through the fence into the back yard.

A few minutes later I heard her low growl, and the bobcat had come back, curiously looking at my cat who was outside the back yard again, puffed up to twice her size, her back arched and growling menacingly.  This time I yelled at my cat and shooed her back into the yard with the shovel.  (If I had tried to pick her up at that point I would have been ripped to shreds.) There is no gate on that side (bad planning on the architect’s part) so I had to go through the house to grab her and toss her inside.  Only got one photo as the bobcat skulked away, the flash showing in its eyes.

Coyotes

I leave the bedroom sliding door open to the screen at night so that I’m cold (64°) in the morning.  Nice, considering the temperature is 96° right now and is supposed to be 101° tomorrow.  But the desert can be pretty loud.  This morning at 5:45 about six coyotes woke me with their yipe yipe yipes, sounding as if they were right outside my back yard.

Iconic

The word of the week.  Think I’ve heard it used a dozen times on the radio in the last week.

i·con·ic   adjective

  1. of, pertaining to, or characteristic of an icon.
  2. Art (of statues, portraits, etc.) executed according to a convention or tradition.

Cherry Blossoms

Japan and Washington DC may have their cherry blossoms, but here in Tucson we have our palo verde flowers.  This one at Pima College, where the drive is bordered by them.

The Price of Gas

We complain about the cost of fueling our cars but the CEO’s are delighted.  Head of Anadarko Petroleum made $19.5M last year, CEO of Occidental Petroleum made $31.7M ($15,240/hr, for a 40 hour workweek, assuming a paid vacation and holidays), head of Conoco-Phillips $19.2M and CEO of Marathon Oil $24.9M.

In February 2011 Texas company Anadarko Petroleum Corp., one of the world’s largest independent oil and gas outfits, hit natural gas at its Windjammer well in the Indian Ocean off Mozambique.

Mozambique’s income per capita is US$370.  For Anadarko’s CEO’s pay, almost 53,000 Mozambicans could earn their yearly salary.

…private military companies (PMCs) have also proliferated, aided by US downsizing and “outsourcing” of defense activities. Operating worldwide, often with US State Department approval and licenses, PMCs prop up shaky regimes, and implement both official and covert foreign policy. In Colombia, for example, they’re queued up to provide logistical support and training for police and counterinsurgency forces defending Occidental Petroleum (OXY) from indigenous resistance to its oil drilling plans. One company helped develop the plan that Congress reviewed before approving $1.3 billion in new military aid.

We as taxpayers are paying to train Columbian police to defend OXY, which earned $6.8 billion last year.  Why couldn’t they pay the $1.3B so the EPA’s budget wouldn’t be reduced by $1.6 billion?
http://republicans.appropriations.house.gov/_files/41211SummaryFinalFY2011CR.pdf

In 2008 the average annual income in Columbia was $2,740 USD.  OXY’s CEO’s salary could pay 11,500 Columbians.

And so on.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “My Attack Cat”

  1. Jim Says:

    What an interesting wildlife experience. That is a beautiful shot of your young bobcat assessing the situation.

  2. notesfromthewest Says:

    It may just have wanted to play, and my cat was being a poor hostess. Check this out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7Bo0wleT7o

  3. leslie sawyer Says:

    love your blog!

  4. Jim Says:

    Young bob cat, two yards away, tried to become better acquainted with the primate in her territory. I am reminded of Dr. Jane Goodall, when a wild chimp came close to become better acquainted with her, and it developed into a wonderful lifelong friendship.

Leave a Reply

