Seminars

Had been somewhat unsure of my Classic Comedies of European Theatre class. For the second class we read Aristophanes’ The Clouds, which I did not enjoy reading (and I had studied it last year for a classics class I had with OLLI and didn’t like it then), but I have to say that the dramatic reading that a bunch of students did in class was (almost) fun, mostly because they threw in current stuff instead of what was happening 2500 years ago, mentioning Republicans, etc.

In the first class the professor showed examples of different types of comedy with videos of George Carlin
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hkCR-w3AYOE,
Carol Burnett http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9gqQYuipF7U and
Rich Little http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJ2SCg5-LvU which were great.

In the other Humanities class, Twentieth Century Art Movements, we zipped through Post-Impressionism and German Expressionism in the first class. It felt like A History of Civilization in 5 Minutes.  (Can’t find the one I remember –  as I recall, it was like slides flipped quickly.  But I also remember a Shakespeare condensed by someone speaking very rapidly.  It wasn’t Monty Python or the Reduced Shakespeare Company – they both speak too slowly.)   I had had art history, but that was 50 years ago, so some of the synapses are missing.

This week we went into Cubism, Purism, Futurism, De Stijl. Picasso took half of the time. Wow! Here is a painting he did at the age of 17! He had mastered realism and went on to start the Cubist movement. He was at the forefront of all French painting at that time.

Guernica didn’t even come up. I remember seeing it this small in an art book. Then I saw it at Museum of Modern Art in New York in about 1980 and it was huge! It is 11 feet high and over 25 feet long!

His portrait of Gertrude Stein was shown in class, which, during our break, got of few of us talking about Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris and how we loved his depiction of the authors and artists (especially Hemingway).

Frida Kahlo

Went to Art after Dark at the Tucson Museum of Art on Friday night for the opening of Frida Kahlo: Through the Lens of Nickolas Muray.  Photographs of her, none of her paintings, but I had seen some at an exhibit at the Phoenix Art Museum probably back in the 80’s, and in Mexico City when I was there maybe ten years ago.  Loved Diego Rivera’s murals (see my blog
https://notesfromthewest.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/readings/
) but didn’t care for most of Frida’s work.

One reason that I went to the opening was that a friend’s son was doing a tango performance there.  Also, the Frida look-alike contest was great.  The first photo is the real Frida.  The others, taken by my friend, were in the contest.  The women (and a couple of men in drag!) did a pretty good job with the eyebrows, mustache, head adornment and costume.  Notice that the one in pink even had Frida’s pet monkey.

Rabbit

Someone killed and ate a rabbit in my yard. On the stone walkway to the spa deck the skin and only one leg in one pile, the guts in another. I figure a hawk. Think a bobcat would have also eaten the entrails. And my brother, who works with injured raptors, tells me hawks often eat the head first.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Seminars”

  1. James Jr Says:

    Reblogged this on JHNConnect.

  2. Jim Says:

    Red tailed hawk or horned owl? Look around for feathers in the theater of this life and death struggle.

    • notesfromthewest Says:

      Didn’t find any feathers. Haven’t seen either a red-tail or any owls (but that doesn’t mean they’re not around), but used to hear the owls at night when I lived in the house next door. Haven’t heard any since I’ve been in this house.

Leave a Reply

