99%

More Rain

Sunday a drenching rain, the clouds snagged on the Tucson Mountains.  Monday morning a lovely fog until the sun came up.  This evening I went to turn off my drip system, and, closing the door behind me, locked myself out.  Luckily all I had to do to get in was to use my secret code on the garage door keypad.  When walking around the house to the front, startled two javelinas who trotted on.

Occupy

Occupy Tucson is a small, quiet campaign in the median downtown.  No confrontations, as in Oakland.  One of the tenants is “redefining how labor is valued.”

 ..a general feeling of discontent with the level of wealth controlled by the richest Americans and corporations. Stories about CEOs that haul in huge pay increases, while foregoing hiring and laying off staff roils members of Occupy Wall Street.
http://abcnews.go.com/Business/stocks-support-occupy-wall-street-principles/story?id=14870365

The ratio of CEO pay to factory worker pay rose from 42:1 in 1960 to 344:1 in 2007, according to research by United for a Fair Economy. By way of comparison, the same ratio is about 25:1 in Europe.
http://sociology.ucsc.edu/whorulesamerica/power/wealth.html

We cannot control the salaries of CEO’s, but we can control their taxes.  New York Times/CBS News poll found that 72 percent of people favor raising taxes on the rich to reduce the deficit.  Our Senator Kyl is on the super-committee on deficit reduction.  Perhaps you could email him, as I did, with your opinion on raising taxes for the rich.  http://kyl.senate.gov/contact.cfm

Despite the high price on my house, I am one of the 99%, my income below the median.  And I think we’ve all seen these statistics:

Over the last three decades average after-tax income for the top 1 percent of U.S. households almost quadrupled, up 275 percent, from 1979 to 2007, the Congressional Budget Office found. For people in the middle of the economic scale, after-tax income grew by just 40 percent. Those at the bottom experienced an 18 percent increase.
http://www.csmonitor.com/Business/Latest-News-Wires/2011/1028/Top-1-percent-has-nearly-quadrupled-income-since-1979

Climate Change continued

Warm air holds more moisture.  In September, after Hurricane Irene had lashed the East Coast, Tropical Storm Lee added more moisture to the saturated ground.

WINDHAM, N.Y. — Drenched and dispirited, East Coast residents recovering from Hurricane Irene were stuck under the chugging remnants of Tropical Storm Lee on Wednesday [09/07/11], some of them grudgingly preparing to move to higher ground again as rivers rose while others fled flash flooding.

From Maryland to New England, heavy rains swelled waterways, flooded highways and stretched emergency responders already dealing with cleanup from last week’s punishing blow from Irene. Sodden ground gave rain nowhere to go but directly into streams, creeks and rivers that rushed a turbid red-brown past rural communities.

Then, at the end of October, the East Coast was hit by record breaking snowstorms:

Three people were killed and nearly three million left without power as the eastern United States was hit by a record breaking October snowstorm.

States of emergency were declared in New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts and parts of New York as icy, gusting winds brought down tree limbs and power lines from West Virginia to Massachusetts.  Those without power were warned it could be days before their electricity was restored.

The unseasonably early winter storm, known as a “nor’easter” due to its north-easterly movement, was being called “Snowtober” and affected up to 60 million people.

We are not on an ocean; the southwest drought since 1999 is the worst in recorded history.  And, as my cousins from Texas noted, it is the worst in their state (exceptional v. Arizona’s severe).  Plus, this year Phoenix has recorded the most days above 110.  (!)

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “99%”

  1. Jim Says:

    There are the good rich who create jobs for the lower and middle classes, and there are evil rich who destroy jobs for the lower and middle classes by “outsourcing technology and jobs to China” and hiring illegal aliens. It is our corrupt elected public servants, from Obama down, who lie and accept bribes from the lobbies who are at the root of America’s plutocracy. America is long overdue for the Tea Parties and the Occupy Wall Streeters – beginnings of a Jeffersonian populist revolution to restore her Constitutional democracy. Basic human instincts are taking greater control over social behavior in America, Europe, and Arabia.

    The rapid revolution in the Earth’s tectonic and weather patterns are beyond human control; and in some places beyond the human capacity to adapt.

    The Darwinian “struggle for survival” and “the survival of fittest” are beyond the power of civilization to end.

  2. barstoolsgiant.com Says:

    First of all I want to say superb blog! I had a quick question that I’d
    like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested
    to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I have had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes are usually wasted just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any recommendations or hints? Appreciate it!

    • notesfromthewest Says:

      These seem to be the identical questions from a different person (Ralph) on 3/16/13. Here was my answer: I have a degree in English and taught it for five years at the high school level, so I’ve had a bit of practice. Tips: when I write about something I do it as if I were talking to a friend (which is how this blog started, emailing friends when I was out of town). I also love to google, so I’m always looking things up, which is why I have so many internet quotes.

  3. spring hook Says:

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr…
    well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

