4” O.C.

The uprights on my fence are 4 inches on center, but this javelina got through.  My fault – I threw out some old cereal for the birds, and he was eating it.  His mother was pacing outside the fence.  When he finished eating he couldn’t get back out, although he kept trying, getting more frustrated, so I had to open the gate and herd him out (by clanking a rake in front of me on the rocks).

When I went outside the other day, and almost walked into a snake on my patio.  Zero at the bone.  (That’s from this poem by Emily Dickinson-)

A narrow Fellow in the Grass
Occasionally rides –
You may have met Him – Did you not
His notice sudden is –

The Grass divides as with a Comb –
A spotted Shaft is seen,
And then it closes at your Feet
And opens further on –

He likes a Boggy Acre
A Floor too cool for Corn –
But when a Boy, and Barefoot
I more than once at Noon

Have passed, I thought, a Whip lash
Unbraiding in the Sun
When stooping to secure it
It wrinkled, and was gone –

Several of Nature’s People
I know and they know me –
I feel for them a transport
Of Cordiality –

But never met this Fellow
Attended or alone
Without a tighter Breathing
And Zero at the Bone.

But it was not a rattlesnake; no rattles and the head was not triangular.

Apple Annie’s

This weekend went to Willcox with my daughter’s family to pick apples, and, most importantly, pumpkins.  (I had made this a tradition when my kids were little.)

There were pigs fenced in the pear orchard to eat their windfall.  The sheep were in the apple orchard for theirs.  You could smell the rotten apples turning alcoholic.  Reminds me of an American Girl story where the pigs got drunk on rotten apples and stumbled past the window where her mother was having her bridge club…

The kids’ waiting area for the hayride had hay bales to sit on and dried corn kernels underfoot as well as stock tanks full of corn for the kids to play in.

picking 061My grandkids wore themselves out and slept in the car on the hour-and-a-half drive home.  Fun day.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “4” O.C.”

  1. Jim Says:

    Peccaries relish rattlesnakes – a population control.
    At a lodge in Peru, I befriended 3 half-grown peccaries by sharing with them a small piece of fruit daily. A trumpeter, whom I had also befriended, did not like the peccaries getting petted by me, and would chase them away. One day, one of the peccaries overcame his fear of the domineering trumpeter and attacked him – breaking his leg. My guide put a split on the leg. This horrible unintended consequence of my good intentions has made me much more cautious.
    I suspect that petting zoos do much to create a lifelong concern for the welfare of animals.
    Your photos are interesting – but their showing through WorkPress is often of such poor quality that it is difficult to see details. Is it not possible to post them in higher quality?

  2. Jim Says:

    After posting, I checked to see how I had set the photo quality viewing, and discovered that your photos are of excellent quality. By using “Refresh Picture with Full Quality”, I see the smallest details.

Leave a Reply

