Denizens of the Desert

I was just out trimming my hedge next to the driveway.  A bobcat strolled down the sidewalk, glanced and me and continued.  Monday night as I was closing the bedroom curtains I noticed this rattlesnake next to the door.  (Those are one-foot tiles.)

Bloomin’

Seems our monsoons got the desert blooming again.  I thought saguaro only bloomed in the spring.  (The flowers are too high for me to get a closeup.)  The rain lilies are abloom. 

My vine (forgot what kind) is producing its yellow flowers.  The blue rosemary flowers are buzzing with bees. 

The Mexican primrose has put out a few pink blossoms, and the white and purple lantanas continue to flower.

My coleus, however, has been populated by light-green inchworms.  I’ve been picking off the ones I can find, and luckily it’s healthy enough to withstand the onslaught.  Went to pick a few leaves from the six lettuce I’m growing on the deck, and noticed that someone had nibbled three leaves.  When I picked them I detected one of the worms pupating on the underside.  I’m keeping it to see what it’ll turn into.

My old Haunt

South Carolina is now tied with three other states for the highest unemployment rate: 11.6%.  In August these were the highest figures:

SOUTH CAROLINA

11.1

MICHIGAN

11.2

CALIFORNIA

12.1

NEVADA

13.4

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Denizens of the Desert”

  1. Galen Leeds Photography Says:

    Quite the variety of wildlife, just there in your own yard. I’m not sure how I’d feel about a rattlesnake there outside my door… excited for photos, nervous, or what…

  2. Jim Says:

    In hot weather, the rattlesnakes coil and rattle their defensive warning; but in cool weather, when they cannot move fast, they lie still – depending on their cryptic coloration to avoid detetection. That is the time when humans carelessly step on them and are struck – sometime fatally. Had I not had the habit of diligently watching my steps, I would been struck at least once a year over the last 20 years.
    Your lovely home there on the edge of Sonora Desert is a great natural treasure. I hope you find a way to forever keep it.
    I suspect that you, who kept a Peru diary, would much enjoy Mee’s famous illustrated diary book, “Amazon”, based on her 32 years of returning to explore it.

  3. Jim Says:

    In hot weather, the rattlesnakes coil and rattle their defensive warning; but in cool weather, when they cannot move fast, they lie still – depending on their cryptic coloration to avoid detetection. That is the time when humans carelessly step on them and are struck – sometime fatally. Had I not had the habit of diligently watching my steps, I would been struck at least once a year over the last 20 years.
    Your lovely home there on the edge of Sonora Desert is a great natural treasure. I hope you find a way to forever keep it.
    I suspect that you, who kept a Peru diary, would much enjoy Mee’s famous diary book, “Amazon”, based on her 32 years of returning to explore it.

  4. Jim Says:

    Is that not the very same beautiful bobcat – a hard working and successful female or a young male, who always comes by, and recognizes you by sight?

Leave a Reply

