BC

A couple of items I forgot to mention re Vancouver.

I thought that it would be nice to see the Vancouver Artgallery.  Unfortunately, not an architectural marvel.  Was not entranced either with “The Surrealist Revolution in Art”.  The show contained works by Breton, Dalí, Ernst, Magritte, Miró, Giacometti, and many others, but not their best. 

Then there was internationally acclaimed Vancouver artist Ken Lum.  His work was definitely different.  Here are two examples of his studio portrait photographs that merge with faux corporate logos that I photographed.   

Then there are his mirrors.  The Mirror Maze with 12 Signs of Depression was truly a maze.  I smashed my forehead at one point.  Had to follow bottom edges of the mirrors to get out!  (This is the official photo, with Ken.)

After the Artgallery (yes, they spell it as one word), we checked out Gastown, an old section of town with cobblestone streets, “gentrified”.  We stopped at a pub and had beer and poutine, much better than that I remembered from last year. 

Poutine is a dish of French fries, fresh cheese curds, and sometimes additional ingredients, covered with brown gravy or sauce.

On the way home we stopped in the market at Granville Island for ingredients for bouillabaisse.  (My son is an excellent cook.)

San Diego

Tomorrow I’m off to visit friends in San Diego for more cool weather.

   Thu      Fri       Sat

  

 

69°/63° 68°/63° 69°/64°

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “BC”

  1. Watching Seasons Says:

    I did a double-take at that last picture! 😀

  2. top mistakes Says:

    Your site is really interesting to me and your subject matter is very relevant. I was browsing around and came across something you might find interesting. I was guilty of 3 of them with my sites. “99% of site owners are committing these 5 errors”. http://is.gd/8kynyd You will be suprised how easy they are to fix.

Leave a Reply

