Canada Day


Ok, this is late reporting, as Canada Day was July 1, but now I’m home and have a few minutes to write.  Vancouver did not have William and Kate, as they were in Ottawa, but they had a day of celebrations in Canada Place, their cruise ship dock (top, with the fabric roof) and convention center (which achieved LEED Platinum certification.  My photo here of the totally awesome wall of a mosaic of 2 x 6’s.  Couldn’t resist photographing the architecture.) 

And a photo that I couldn’t take of the downtown showing the dock and the convention center with its green (yes, grass) roof from this site:  http://www.naturallywood.com/sites/default/files/Vancouver-Convention-Centre-Case-Study.pdf

There was a street festival and live music concerts on four stages.  We didn’t stay for the fireworks, as the sun goes down so late in the North, they started at 10:30pm. 


There were lots of funny hats, small flags, and maple leaf “tattoos” on cheeks.  My son mentioned that he thought that recent immigrants got more into the festivities.

 Homecoming

Enjoyed visiting my cousins in Washington State for the Fourth of July, but getting home from Sequim was a bother.  Had to leave at 2:30am to drive to the 4:45 ferry to Seattle where I had to return my rental car and take a taxi to the airport for a 7:20 flight.  My daughter picked me up in Phoenix and I got to have lunch with the grandkids before driving home, just before the storm hit.  It was reported that we got 1” of rain and 80mph wind gusts on Tuesday.  The furniture on my patio was blown around, and the lightening was impressive too.

The javelina herd was next door Wednesday morning, 15 strong, and the deer have been enjoying the shade and the mesquite seeds the past few mornings.  There were two young bucks with stubs of velvet antlers, but too camera shy for a photo op.  No predator sightings the past few days.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Canada Day”

  1. Sommer Says:

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site
    before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking
    it and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

