Hot, hot, hot

It’s 101° here right now (June 5, 2011) and it’s too hot!  I make brief forays into the garden, making repairs to the drip system, just so I don’t feel so claustrophobic in the closed-up house, but can’t take it for too long.  My brother, on the other hand, in northern Sonoma Country, says it’s still winter there, with temperatures in the 60’s!  Here is their forecast for today:  64°F | 50°F Humidity: 69%  

Farm animals in the City

Last time I saw my cousin’s daughter’s house, they were just moving in.  They live just south of downtown Phoenix (south of I10) in a residential neighborhood, but have lots of animals. Would love to see her baby goats.  Here is her blog:
http://wishwehadacres.blogspot.com/.  And her comments:

Aren’t they just adorable? More than I’d like! It’s quite a bit of work. It wasn’t when we had one goat and fewer chickens. Not sure when it became so much to do, but 20 chickens and 10 goats are certainly a bit of a handful. Especially when the 3 dogs and 3 cats sorta take over the house. You never get away from it. 🙂 We love them.

AEPA

In my continuing work on reinstating my teaching certificate, yesterday I took the English test.  (Next month I’ll take the math one, for which I’ve been boning up on my calc.)  Over 500 people milled outside a local high school on Saturday morning, waiting to take one of the 47 tests available. There was quite a variety of testees, from a few Muslim woman in long dresses and covered hair, to skinny white youngsters just out of college in shorts and tank tops (“And I was like…”), to older folks such as me. 

In November 1997, the Arizona State Board of Education adopted rules regarding the evaluation of educators applying for state certifications.  The Arizona Educator Proficiency Assessments® (AEPA®) were designed to ensure that each certified teacher has the necessary knowledge to teach in Arizona public schools.

Then we filed into our various classrooms.  While we were waiting for everyone to show up (there was a looooong line in front of the girls’ bathroom), I chatted with some of the women around me. (All of the test-takers were women in my room.)  One had already landed a job at a charter school, but had flunked her test first time around and was re-taking.  An older woman was a math teacher, but on the request of her principal, was taking a physics test for additional certification.  The other woman, also testing for the first time, was young and self-effacing, and like everyone else in the classroom, sat silently, as though waiting for an execution.  I had heard that some of the tests were so hard, such as the Middle Grades General Science, women had left in tears!

The testing company, AEPA Program Evaluation Systems (based in Amherst, MA) is making a bundle of money on these tests, which aren’t even on the computer in this day and age!  Yes, the first part was multiple choice, to be checked by computer, but the second part was a writing section, based on a scene from Edith Wharton’s The House of Mirth.  My handwriting, and some of you have seen it, leaves something to be desired, so I would have preferred to be able to type out the response.  Not an option.  Hope it was legible enough to pass me!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Hot, hot, hot”

  1. Jim Says:

    I have observed that, with few exceptions – such as yourself, those who are not good in mathematics, teach mathematics; and those who not good in writing, teach writing. I hope you will not even consider teaching positions where your natural talents will be wasted. Are there any schools in Tucson which would enable you to enjoy the satisfaction of teaching bright and eager learners? I suspect there are plenty of openings in schools where the motivation and IQ areaverage

Leave a Reply

