Birds

I don’t know if it’s whether I can’t understand cardinal speak, or they don’t distinguish between crises.  Usually if they’re squawking up a storm it’s a roadrunner or bobcat, or even my cat that’s disturbing them.  Yesterday I didn’t see a predator, and, not walking around the yard, didn’t realize that they were peeping one of the chicks has fallen out of the nest.  Too bad.  Today the ants were at it.  Yesterday I could have put it back into the nest.

(It is not true that birds will ignore a hatchling that a person has touched.  Many years ago a curved-bill thrasher watched me put one of her chicks back in her nest in a cholla next to my garage and was perfectly ok with it – although she didn’t thank me.)

Today my cat was sitting on the patio watching the quail when I heard a ruckus.  A large hawk flew from the quail towards my cat (who ducked under the chaise longue).  Haven’t seen any quail babies yet, so don’t think it got anyone.  Wonder if I only have one hawk around, the one who herds doves into my kitchen window.

The critters are pretty comfortable on my patio.  Pix here of a rabbit and a quail.  They’re all curious and peer into the bedroom.  Previously have had photos of a thrasher and the bobcat.
 (http://notesfromthewest.wordpress.com/2010/05/19/bobcat-sighting/)  Glad there aren’t any alligators or hippos around.   (I love this youtube about Jessica the hippo raised by a South African couple: http://www.youtube.com)/watch?v=G3NueKXS6dk)

The Test

Passed the SEI course (Structured English Immersion – the online class I whizzed through in just over a month) with flying colors.

Now studying Calculus for Dummies to review what I taught 35 years ago, to take the secondary school math test in July for my teaching certificate.  (Taking the English test next month, my other teaching major, but I use English every day, as opposed to calc.)

All of this work and who knows if any high school will hire a 64-year-old.  At least I know that they have a hard time getting math teachers.

This whole process is a bit pricey, the fingerprinting (no I’m not a felon), the SEI class, the English and math tests, the certificate fee itself.  But it does keep me out of trouble.  Hah!

BTW – if any one of you want to expand your brain power (and escape the dreaded Alzheimer’s), I recommend Calculus for Dummies.

Factoid

A termite queen (in Africa anyway) lays an egg every 3 seconds for 15 years.  (Yes, that’s a termite mound behind me and the Maasai guide in Tanzania a few years ago.)

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Birds”

  1. Jim Says:

    I am delighted that you are going back into teaching; you have a natural gift for it, and an educational background that makes you exceptionally knowledgeable. I honor my best teachers from grade school, high school, and university years. Many talented teachers are moving to the charter schools, where there are gratifying teaching environments.

Leave a Reply

