Beasties

Two roadrunners in the garden this morning, but not paying attention to each other.  (Notice how long his tail is!)  When I was living in “the little house” two streets away, as my present abode was being built, a roadrunner mom came by with her young’un.  They sat on the wrought-iron fence, the young’un having a dreadful time balancing.

As I was driving out to my zumba class this morning I passed a house where half-a-dozen javelinas, a youngster included, had downed the garbage container (a large one) and were having a feast.

At noon, when I went out back, two large deer bounded off from munching on the mesquite tree just outside my fence.  (They’re quite skittish.)

This afternoon as I was studying, I heard the cat growl at the door, her tail puffed, her hair on end.  I saw nothing.  Had probably been a coyote, as they fade well into the brush.

Not everyone enjoys the “beasties” as I do.  They’d rather not have the javelina toppling their garbage, not have the coyotes devour their cat, (at least I haven’t heard of any domesticated animals eaten by the bobcats or the resident cougar), not have the deer and rabbits nibble on the bushes and trees they’ve taken pains to plant.  They have their houses sprayed so they don’t have cockroaches and scorpions and black widows.  The spraying, of course, kills the lizards and probably toads, frogs, and birds who eat the dead insects.

In the Star Wars movies the government planet is Coruscant. 

Situated in the heart of the galaxy, Coruscant was the seat of government for the Galactic Republic and the Empire that supplanted it. Over thousands of years of civilization, the planet has been entirely enveloped by cityscapes and urban sprawl. Immense skyscrapers reach high into the atmosphere, and stretch down deep into the dark shadows. Crisscrossing the skyline are streams of unending repulsorlift traffic. Even in the depths of night, Coruscant is alive with glittering lights and rivers of traffic, a bustling megalopolis that refuses to sleep. 
 http://www.starwars.com/databank/location/coruscant/

Not a green thing.  Not an animal.  (Guess they imported food from other planets.)  Ours will be like that one day, unless we curb our population growth.

Many in the US want immigration cut – their ancestors took the country from the Native Americans, and now they want the door shut, to keep the majority white.
http://www.nytimes.com/2011/04/17/us/17immig.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=the%20anti-immigration%20crusader&st=cse

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door.
“The New Colossus”  by Emma Lazarus

Forget that.  Stay home.  Fix your own countries.

I like the mix of peoples in our United States, but I would keep the population down with Zero Population Growth.  Every couple would be allowed two children, max.  And no one gets a second chance with a second family, if you don’t like your first.  Immigrants could not come to the US if they have more than two children.  (Might cut down on immigration.)

I have a feeling that the Religious Right wouldn’t like that idea.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

