Hot Air Balloon

I woke up this morning to see a yellow and red globe rising from the mesquite trees.  The local Marriott Resort must be doing hot air balloon rides.  (I took three other photos but my memory stick was acting up and lost them.)

When I lived in The Foothills (where Loews Ventana Canyon, The Westin La Paloma, and Westward Look resorts reside) we would often have hot air balloons drift by our neighborhood.  At that time I had two dogs – an Australian shepherd (the smart one) and a spaniel mix (the stupid one).   The spaniel tried incessantly to bark down a balloon.

Surprisingly, one day she accomplished her task, and a balloon crashed into a neighbor’s yard.  Don’t know what the problem had been, but my dog took full credit.

A friend said that when she took a balloon ride she thought that they would silently float about the desert.  Not so – the roaring whoosh of the fire heating up the gas is ever-present.

Simpsonville South Carolina, where I lived for two years, has an annual balloon festival, Freedom Weekend Aloft.  I hadn’t known about it until I heard the rumbling whoosh whoosh in my loft.  I went outside to see a bevy of balloons around me. Quite lovely.

A friend in my company’s Tucson office (which closed in 2005) went to the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta every year as a crew member on a balloon.  He asked me if I’d like to go, but I never did.  Still should consider it.  A cousin lives there.  (Photos from Wikipedia.)

The balloon fiesta is a nine day event during early October. The event is the largest hot air balloon festival in the world.
T
he number of registered balloons reached a peak of 1,019 in 2000, prompting the Balloon Fiesta Board to limit the number to 750 starting in 2001, citing a desire for “quality over quantity”.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Hot Air Balloon”

  1. Jim Says:

    The “Stupid” Dog Got It Right
    Once Up and Off there is No Control – Google “Hot Air Balloon Accidents”. Pictured: The horrific moment a hot air balloon exploded, leaving … Oct 11, 2008 … Other fatalities were recorded in 1990, 1993 and 1998. … There was a horrific hot air balloon accident similar to this in Vancouver a …

  2. Rhonda R. Fleming Says:

    Liked the spaniel story.

  3. Jim Says:

    Pure breeds of dog were created for different functions. The Spaniel is exceptionally intelligent for hunting and stupid for herding; the Australian Shepard is exceptionally intelligent for herding and stupid for hunting. Neither is to blame for their stupidity, because they were created to be the slaves by bipedal primates. A coyote is a smart dog; but he was created by God.

Leave a Reply

