Solar Clothes Dryer

Ironing

Ok, I admit it, I was ironing when the coyote ambled by.  I know that Women of a Certain Age (and income) wear Mistook knits (forget those $$$$$ St. John knits!), Eileen Fisher crinkled fabrics, or J. Jill pre-wrinkled linens, none of which need to be ironed.  I have some of each of those, mainly great hand-me-downs from friend R.

However, a few my less expensive pieces (but not as cheap as no-wrinkle polyesters) look better crisply ironed.  Wish I could iron out the wrinkles in my skin!

I remember that my mother used to iron pillow cases and the top edge of sheets, only what showed.  I tried the same thing in my last year of teaching, ironing only the collar and cuffs of blouses, which were worn under sweaters.  That is, until the classroom got too hot.  Sweat in the sweater or display a wrinkled blouse?  Arrgh!

Laundry

For those of us who can’t (or don’t) afford solar panels on our roofs, a clothesline is affordable.  Friend N had one of those old-fangled solar-powered clothes dryers.  But many of us live in subdivisions with a restrictive covenant forbidding clothes lines.  Yes, most of us don’t want to look at the neighbor’s underwear, but the lines could be hidden behind walls, as our AC units are.

(I thought that my neighborhood CC&Rs prohibited clotheslines, but I skimmed them and can’t seem to find any mention.  I have been cheating and hanging my washing on my deck railing to dry.  Guess I need to purchase an actual clothesline so that I can use clothespins and not have to worry about the wind.)

There is actually a web site pushing line drying of clothes:  http://www.laundrylist.org/

Here is a map of their supporters.  What is wrong with this picture?

Clotheslines Across America Map

 This map shows Project Laundry List clotheslines from our supporters around the globe, not just the United States. It focuses on the US and Canada, because that is where electric and gas dryers are most prevalent and it is where we focus our efforts.

Yes, a few of you guessed it.  Arizona, which may have the most sunny days of any state (we claim that the sun shines here 360 days a year), is devoid of any Project Laundry List activity.

Q: Which states receive the most sunshine each year?

A: While Florida proclaims itself “the Sunshine State,” it might be more appropriately named the “partly cloudy” state. Five other states, Arizona, California, Nevada, New Mexico and Texas, catch more rays than Florida, according to the National Weather Service.

Anyone ready to join?

Tags: ,

One Response to “Solar Clothes Dryer”

  1. Stella Says:

    I remember my mother using a mangle to iron sheets, and I had to do it too. I rarely iron anything now. A little drying to get most wrinkles out, onto a hangar and then hang outside. I love the smell of my clothes after they have been on the line.

Leave a Reply

