Some Assembly Required

Perhaps you have put together a piece of furniture from IKEA.  The instructions are very good pictographs, not needing translation into the numerous languages that would be necessary for the 37 countries in which their 316 stores reside.

I bought a bed for my guest bedroom.  The first page shows this:

I did, however, manage to get it put together by myself, with a few strategically placed shoeboxes.

I guess if you have fit together their shelf system you can assemble anything!  I battled these shelves a few years ago, all afixed with dowels, but towards the end getting one portion in place would cause another to pop out.  In frustration, I used a few tae kwon do kicks to get the last pieces together, but then turned the page to the final instruction:

The shelves were flat out on the floor and I couldn’t lift them an inch!  Luckily my next-door neighbor (in the condo complex in South Carolina) was home and helped me boost the shelves into place.

Note:

IKEA was founded in 1943 by 17-year-old Ingvar Kamprad in Sweden, named as an acronym comprising the initials of the founder’s name (Ingvar Kamprad), the farm where he grew up (Elmtaryd), and his home parish (Agunnaryd, in Småland, South Sweden).

Tags:

2 Responses to “Some Assembly Required”

  1. kim blair Says:

    I love IKEA! I had to laugh about the shoe box trick. I use phone books… An IKEA is currently being built in the Denver area I can’t wait. Since being deserted the house is bare.

Leave a Reply

