Rain

Rain by Shel Silverstein      

I opened my eyes
And looked up at the rain,
And it dripped in my head
And flowed into my brain,
And all that I hear as I lie in my bed
Is the slishity-slosh of the rain in my head.

I step very softly,
I walk very slow,
I can’t do a handstand–
I might overflow,
So pardon the wild crazy thing I just said–
I’m just not the same since there’s rain in my head.    

 

2am. I was awakened by thunder, lightening, and heavy rain.  The power was out for over 6 hours.  But it sure cooled down the city.  It’s raining again this afternoon.  It is so delightful.  

A very melodious bird woke me this morning. – mockingbird?  A towhee spent quite a time in the birdbath (when it wasn’t raining),  fluttering its wings and spraying water all about.  One persistence goldfinch worked at, I think, picking all of the nyjer thistle seeds from the finch blend feed in the birdfeeder.     

Regarding being awakened at 2am, having had three hours of sleep:  The year I lived in Philadelphia (’69-’70) I had read an article in Reader’s Digest that people sleep in 3-hour blocks.  Hence I thought to try it out, sleeping from 10 to 1, getting up and doing something quietly (no vacuuming as I lived in a third-floor apartment), then sleeping again from 3 to 6.  That lasted a week.  It was not pleasant.  (Last night at 2am, I did not get up and try to accomplish anything; I sensibly went back to sleep.)  

However, I just googled the 3-hour block of sleep and came up with the Everyman, 4 periods/day, Core sleep of (typically) three hours, with 3 naps of 20 minutes each, evenly spaced throughout the day. But no, I don’t think I’ll try it.  

Multiphasic sleep patterns vary. These are any sleep pattern that has more than two periods of sleep per 24 hour period. Triphasic, therefore, is one that includes three phases of sleep per day. Typical polyphasic sleep patterns are:
  • Triphasic, 3 periods/day, Typical division is three 90 minute sleeps per day (total 4- ½ hours of sleep)
  • Tetraphasic, 4 periods/day, One half hour every six hours. Very rare. (One known person is Buckminster Fuller).
  • Everyman, 4 periods/day, Core sleep of (typically) three hours, with 3 naps of 20 minutes each, evenly spaced throughout the day. Typical core sleep starts between 11pm and 3 am.
  • Pentaphasic, 5 periods/day, Five more-or-less evenly spaced sleep periods. Not widely known to be practised.
  • Hexaphasic / Überman, 6 periods/day, Napping 15 to 30 minutes every four hours. Widely attributed to Leonardo Da Vinci (although there is no proof). There are currently people doing this successfully.

 Looking at the above patterns shows that people on polyphasic sleep schedules are sleeping from 2 to 4-½ hours in each 24 hour period. This is a great gain in waking time. Having as much as 5-½ hours extra time in each day (based on mean required sleep of 7-½ hours) can really add to one’s productivity and accomplishments.      

But there are drawbacks. It is extremely difficult to live a polyphasic lifestyle in a society that does not accept it. People often think of someone who naps during the day as lazy or unhealthy. Napping doesn’t work well with typical work schedules. Many polyphasic sleepers are forced to take naps in their cars during normal work hours, which can be a hassle.

There is no conclusive evidence either way whether polyphasic sleep is better or worse for one’s health, as no studies have really been done on the long term effects. Short term studies have been done and seem to conclude that there is no effect on physical health, but polyphasic sleep does result in higher mental acuity.  http://www.suite101.com/content/understanding-polyphasic-sleep-a141385        

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Rain”

  1. Jim Says:

    I find periods of being awake at night increasing with age; I suspect that the body adjusts the amount of sleep to provide the optimum energy. When awake, I use the time to think about interesting problems – and often awaken with creative solutions.

  2. Jim Says:

    The curved bill brown thrasher and wren have beautiful songs too. Emmons has put together a CD with Amazon forest sounds made by the wildlife.

Leave a Reply

