Yes, but it’s a dry heat…

Record high temperatures for September 30 were set; the Tucson International airport was 104 degrees.  And I was down by the railroad tracks off of 29th Street cutting sunflowers in the weeds.

Last night not only did the coyotes sound really close, there sounded like a lot of them yipping and yipe-ing.   Cami chose to stay inside.

Yesterday morning as I was trimming one of my Texas rangers (a bit too early as I noticed that I was cutting off flower buds; when they’re in bloom I usually trim them and put the branches in a vase; you can tell that I don’t buy flowers), I heard a rustle and a mother javelina with her two very young ones stopped to stare and me. 

Perhaps they decided then not to continue between the houses, or maybe they meant to amble next door to munch on my neighbor’s front landscape plants.  I ran inside for my camera, but neglected to look at the setting first; it was on nightshot.  (I had been experimenting last night because I had missed the shots of the young coyotes in the dark the other evening.)   Notice how the javelina in the sun became totally white.  Missed counting the entire herd; more than ten.  In addition to the two very young ones there were two more a bit older.  Didn’t see any alpha male, however.  Maybe he wandered by when I was inside.  The one in the second photo had all of his back hairs standing on end, but of course I didn’t snap fast enough.

This morning the quail were trying to balance in a thorn bush to eat the berries.  (Can you see the berries on the right?)  Unfortunately, it was behind a creosote, so I couldn’t get close enough for a photo without them taking off.  They were way too heavy for the branches, and were swaying back and forth.  (To you non-Tucsonans, quail usually stay on the ground, except for a single sentry above.)

My rain lilies are blooming.  Thirty years ago a friend of mine was dividing her rain lilies, and asked if I wanted any.  Sure, I’ll always take free plants.  They went into the garden of that house, off La Cañada.  When we moved to the Foothills I divided the rain lilies (zephyranthes candida) and planted them at the dwelling on Culebra. 

After ten years I sold that domicile and moved into a rental while The Bridge House was being built.  Yes, half of the rain lilies moved with me, and then I planted them at The Bridge House.  Following the sale of that home, I divided the lilies again and interred them at The Little House.  Finally, when I moved into my present residence, I sowed them again.

My brother sent me a short movie, the ballet around us.  I think he [the photographer] made them all up…it was a totally computer generated movie!!  The photography is great, you can’t tell most of the CGI, and the architecture is marvelous.  Make sure you watch it full screen.  http://vimeo.com/7809605

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

