Updates

The Veggies

Have planted seeds for fava beans, beets, bok choy, peas (compact bush plants), mini carrots (fun for kids of all ages!) and leeks.  We’ll see what transpires.  So far I’ve only dug up and added compost to two plots, each 20’ long and 2’ wide.

The Foot

I had the last visit with my doc.  After taking more X-rays he said that my foot looks great, but it’ll be pinkish and swollen (as opposed to my right foot, which is white and skinny) for another two months.  Good thing the weather’s not changing for a while, as I can’t fit into any closed shoes (kinda like Cinderella’s stepsisters).

Got two snail mails from my podiatrist today.  One was the bill.  The other was a hand-written thank-you letter.  (It was nice having met you, etc etc.)  Weird.  Business must be slow.

The Expense

I called my insurance about a new bill and found out that these are the costs for my one hour of outpatient surgery (or would be before the insurance “discount”).

Surgeon            $1247

Anethesiologist     $760

Hospital            $6105

So I called the hospital to request an itemized bill.  They don’t do that.  They use the Medicare given cost, and add on their own percentage.  Could I be given the Medicare given cost?  You can find it on the Internet.  Not easy. 

I did find the AMA CPT (Current Procedural Terminology) code for the Keller bunionectomy and Medicare payment information:

        Medicare Payment    
Code    Description   Facility  
       
28292   Correction, hallux valgus (bunion), with or without sesamoidectomy; Keller, McBride, or Mayo type procedure   $715.53  

https://catalog.ama-assn.org/Catalog/cpt/cpt_home.jsp

Ok, I know that the podiatrist isn’t operating every hour for a 40-hour week. But $1247?  Isn’t that a bit much for one hour?  And I know that if the anesthesiologist made an error, I could become a kumquat.  But $760 for one hour? But I really couldn’t countenance $6105 for one hour in the hospital, even including a couple of nurses and use of a Bovie machine!!

Guess I’m going to call the hospital back on the difference between $715.53 (where did Medicare come up with this number and 53 cents?) and $6105.

BTW, I thought that I’d check the doc’s record.  (When I checked out Mom’s doctors when she was very ill, the first two had a few hand slaps!)  Could not find him under http://www.azmd.gov/GLSPages/DoctorSearch.aspx.  Turns out podiatrists are registered by the Arizona Board of Podiatry, not the Arizona Medical Board.  http://www.podiatry.state.az.us/dir.htm.  He was clean.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Updates”

  1. richard kizu-blair Says:

    Lynne,
    FYI, when I make my rate (which I haven’t lately), I make between $1000 and $1500/hr to direct TV commercials…I don’t think your podiatrist is exceedingly expensive considering the education necessary and the responsibility…

  2. Alissa C. Says:

    Someone needs to pay my bills!

  3. Jim Says:

    Prior to medical treatment, the doctor needs to be told how much money there is available for payment. When there is not enough money for hospitalization, the patient is immediate sent home, whenever possible. And this money is then paid by the patients who did not indicate that money is a problem. Mexicans, illegal aliens, routinely get free treatment, at the expense of Americans who can barely afford to pay off their bills.

Leave a Reply

