California

Aging

Today my brother and I sprang my mom’s best friend from her nursing home for lunch out.  (I am the only person who takes her out.  Her relatives only visit her there.)  She’s 92, in a wheelchair, needs some help eating, and fades in and out of time.  (She said that her mother was still alive, asked about our uncle who has been gone for 6 years, and can’t remember the letter I sent her a week ago.)  At least that never happened to Mom.

I grow old . . . I grow old . . .
I shall wear the bottoms of my trousers rolled
Shall I part my hair behind? Do I dare to eat a peach?
I shall wear white flannel trousers, and walk upon the beach.
I have heard the mermaids singing, each to each.
I do not think that they will sing to me.

T. S. Eliot: The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

Parrotheads

On a positive note, we went to an Anti-Buffett party this evening.  Friends of my brother’s protested Jimmy Buffet concert tickets going for $100 by having a party instead of going to hear him.

California BBQ, with beer, wine and horseshoes.  Jimmy’s music blaring from the house.  Everybody brought their dogs.

Uncle Sam.  (The beard is for real – he’s been growing it just for the Fourth!)  Beer hats made from beer cartons (if you’d like one, you can order it), Hawaiian shirts and skirts.  A hamburger bra (instead of coconut shells).

Friend’s daughter’s tattoos.  (Yes, the pink hair is hers too.)  Cardboard Buffett on the balcony, Buffett T-shirts, stuffed toy parrots.

What we missed by staying for the bonfire was the Monte Rio festivities down the Russian River.  Check out this youtube:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zoQP2TXf_3c

The party-giver had built my brother’s house, and my brother and sister-in-law met him when they contracted for him to add storage under their deck.  He has lived in northern California forever and was the person who had us drop his name in one of the vineyards we visited when I was here at Thanksgiving, to get a 50% discount!  Good friend to have.

Tags: ,

One Response to “California”

  1. LYN KAGEY Says:

    Sounds like fun! I want a party like this one!

Leave a Reply

