Some Like It Hot

Birds and Blooms

My bougainvillea and agapanthus are loving the heat. The bougainvillea flowers bloom apricot and fade to pink. 

As I was downloading my photos I caught sight of a hummingbird on the agapanthus right outside the office window.    It appears to be a female black-chinned hummingbird.  This time I had my camera.

Javalina Babies

Later, when I was outside my fence trimming a tree (Brush and Bulky Collection will be done the week of July 5, and I want to get the spring trimmings hauled away for free) a troop of javelina wandered by and a few expressed interest in me. 

I did not retreat, as I did have a saw in hand if needed, but asked them not to bother me, and after a few sniffs and nearsighted stares, they only moseyed within two yards of me and decided not to travel between houses but to continue behind my neighbor’s house.

As I was hauling out a large tree limb my neighbor asked if I had seen the javelina babies.  Darn!  I hadn’t been paying enough attention.  She said that there were two little ones.

Bobcat

Almost 5pm.  I was having a cup of tea and reading when I noticed a young bobcat slinking onto my patio to lap from the dripping hose.  Ran all over the house to find my camera.  Took one photo from the tv room. 

From the bedroom the bobcat was facing away so I opened the door a crack and said hi.  Snapped that photo.  My cat actually stayed a couple of feet away from the door and watched.

Then our friend took off across the yard.  I was too anxious and didn’t hold the camera steady, and the other photos were fuzzy. (In this one the yard is in focus but the bobcat is a bit blurry ‘cause it’s moving.)   

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Some Like It Hot”

  1. Jim Says:

    I starve from time to time; I fight off intruders from time to time; most of my children die before maturity; but I live free, and my descendants will be here long after I am gone.

Leave a Reply

