Baby Quail

The Blessed Event

They’re here!  The long-waited-for event: baby quail.  A mom with seven young ‘uns were jumping onto my driveway curb yesterday.  I ran for my camera, but of course I missed the photo.  (This one from the internet, of a family in palo verde blossoms.) 

I ran out back to call the cat ‘cause I definitely didn’t want her getting any of those cute flightless acorns.  She came when she was called, but she had already left a gift for her goddess, a wounded lizard.  He was alive, but with a small hole in his side.  Not sure he’ll make it.

Catch and Release

Catch-and-release only seems to work when I’m around.  Last night while I was fixing dinner she came up to the deck with a lizard.  When I picked her up and she released it, it scurried down the spiral stairs!  No trace of it so I guess it managed. 

This morning I saw my cat slink onto the patio with a 9” lizard in her mouth.  When I caught her she dropped it and it skittered into the house!  She caught it again, but I grabbed her and closed her out of the room, cornered the lizard (I should take photos first) and put it outside.

Later in the afternoon I did take a photo of one of her lizards ‘cause I loved the turquoise of its belly, and although it appeared unhurt, it stayed still, in shock.  Unfortunately, I got the camera too close and the photo is blurry.

Mice

BB (Before Bobcats) I left the cat out whenever she wanted to be, since she does have a dog door into the garden tools closet, to come in, and can get into the house if I leave the door from that into the laundry room open.  She used to leave sacrifices on the deck – mice, or pieces of mice, a tail, or a head and tail, or a tail and tiny feet.  One night I heard her eating one outside the bedroom door.  Crunch, crunch, even the head devoured.  (See my blog https://notesfromthewest.wordpress.com/2010/06/12/it%e2%80%99s-a-dry-heat/  which talks about the Arizona Pocket Mouse.)

Now that she is not allowed out at night, she concentrates on the day creatures – lizards.  She is a good hunter.

Bonk

Bonk.  A fly flew into the window and struggled on his back on the patio for a minute before flying off.  Yesterday a dove flew into the kitchen window and fluttered off with a headache.

Javelinas

I guess I’m back on the javelina route.  A few were about yesterday, and I got photos of three this morning.  One of them looked like someone had taken a bite out of his/her hind end.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Baby Quail”

  1. Jim Says:

    From the way the javelina are carefully observing you, to assess your intentions, I suspect that they very intelligence.

    I once slept out on a cot in desert, on the front lawn of friend. In the middle of night, I was awakened by sounds. To my delight, in bright moonlight, I discovered half a dozen javalina around me, contentedly munching on the grass.

  2. Jim Says:

    The Daily Coyote and Vespa Vagabond « The Urban HippieFeb 21, 2009 … Darvinia // March 6, 2010 at 5:31 pm | Reply. Charlie and Wild … I stumbled across a delightful blog by Lynne Blair in Arizona, …
    https://theurbanhippie.wordpress.com/…/the-daily-coyote-and-vespa-vagabond/ – Cached

Leave a Reply

