A lovely time to return home

Yes, I will continue w/ the Amazon blog, but I’m just sticking this in.  BTW if anyone wants to borrow Z before I sell it at Bookman’s, please raise your hand.

11May10

Argg!  Out of coffee!  When I had made up my grocery list I checked the freezer and yes there was coffee, so I didn’t buy any.  It was decaf. My cat was so glad to have me back.  Not, of course, like a dog, barking and jumping and getting underfoot.  No, just following me from room to room, nonchalantly, as if she coincidentally was just strolling into a room that I happened to be in.  Plus snuggling at night, as opposed to her usual aloof sleeping at the far corner of the bed.

The usual array of birds

The usual array of birds are here – a very large roadrunner stopped by this morning, his tail going up and down mechanically.  Quail have walked right next to the glass door as my cat’s tail twitched while she sat on the bed.  A curved-bill thrasher too, when she was right next to the door.  The finch aren’t crazy about my Wild Finch Food (they prefer the nyjer thistle seed) so there have been only one or two at the feeder or birdbath.  A hummingbird.  A gray flycatcher hanging around.  Doves.  No nests in sight yet.  A Gila woodpecker feeding on a saguaro blossom.  But those hawk silhouettes that I put on my two kitchen windows aren’t working.  Slam!  Last night a bird flew into one window.  I checked to see if it was injured, but no bird was on the ground; it’ll have one heck of a headache, however.  The other window has a bird splatter with stuck feathers; it happened when I was in Chandler for the weekend.  But no dead bird. No coyote/deer/javelina/rabbit/bobcat/mountain lion sightings yet.  There was a six-inch lizard inside my front door.  Had the cat brought it in?  She sniffed it and it didn’t move, but when I grabbed it, it wriggled a lot, until I had put it outside, unharmed.

The desert in bloom

I have returned just in time for the palo verde bloom.  The Mexican palo verdes are losing their sparse yellow blossoms, which waft into piles on my deck.  My daughter’s, in Chandler, which had been a volunteer from my yard, has a nice display.  (I was there for Mother’s Day.)  The native foothills palo verdes are in full flower.  (Photo of my neighbor’s busting through the ocotillo fence.)  The prickly pear are also blooming;the yellow blossoms look great on the purple variety.   And my vine is blooming.  The feathery cassias are heavy with seeds.  The local acacias have started putting out their yellow ball flowers too, and the creosotes are still at it. Yes, I did theme this garden yellow.  The house next door had been lavender with lantana, verbena, vitex, and the lavender entry gate to match.  There is a bit of variety – the pink blossoms of the Mexican primrose are large and delicate.  The dwarf bottlebrush has red brushes.  And the aloes that my daughter gave me are blooming red, along with the ocotillo.  (Photo of the ocotillo fence next door.)  The myoporum encircling the spa deck is awash in white, and a pretty volunteer in yellow.  (Can anyone identify it?) In my pots the nasturtiums are almost finished, but the pink geraniums, blue lobelias, and stripped purple and white petunias are doing fine.  Wish I could say the same of the dwarf bougainvillea with its apricot flowers which turn pink as they age.  The winter had been a bit hard on it.  The coleus has gone crazy.  The Lady Banksia rose bloomed while I was gone.  My cat sitter felt so bad about my dinky cherry tomato plant in the pot that she planted half a dozen “real” tomato plants in my garden area.  What a sweetie! In a neighbor’s yard, the cholla is blooming orange. I learned that Tucson had had more rain during the month I had been gone.  The weeds are two feet high.  My cat-sitter apologized for not pulling them, but she wasn’t sure which were wildflowers.  There is a fine line between weeds and wildflowers.  I accidentally pulled out a globe mallow, but I left tiny purple flowers; don’t know what they are.  I’ve been out yanking the weeds, but their roots hold on tight to the solid dirt; I have to wet the ground first to get them out. A bit of work, but what a lovely time to return home.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “A lovely time to return home”

  1. Jim Says:

    Lynne, your garden is lovely. Would like a large species of opuntia to add to your collection? The pads are large and the fruit is large and sweet. It would need a place not accessible to the javalinas.

Leave a Reply

