Packing for the Amazon

I know all of you are expecting me to blog from the Amazon; I expected to do so too.  But of course once we leave Iquitos there is no internet.  So I will write my posts and put them on my blog when I return.  Here are the latest emails:

Hi Lynne,

Today I picked up our spray can of permithrin at our local outdoor store. Picked up one big bottle which is supposed to be enough to do 4 set of clothes. we usually do at least 3 sets each plus hats and shoes. It is the same stuff that is used in the buzz-off clothing.  Am including my list again and will update it again when Jim and I go over it.

Things I usually bring to Peru:

Clothes

  1. 7 lightweight underwear
  2. lightweight pj’s
  3. 3 long pants impregnated with permithirin
  4. 3 long sleeved shirts impregnated with premithrin
  5. pair of rubber boots
  6. 7 socks
  7. sandals &/or lightweight sneakers
  8. flip flops (for shower)
  9. t shirts or short sleeve shirts that I use mostly in Iquitos
  10. some kind of jacket that you need if you are Lima and occasionally use in Iquitos
  11. light weight poncho (it can rain everyday )

Other stuff

  1. reading flashlight
  2. toiletries
  3. first aid stuff including cipro usually
  4. flashlight
  5. repellant
  6. reading material
  7. camera with 12v charger system
  8. netbook for downloading pics & occasional writing
  9. binoculars
  10. mosquito repellant = lemon eucalyptus oil (instead of deet)
  11. sunscreen
  12. wide brim hat that won’t easily blow off
  13. things useful to donate to classroom
  14. A few copies of passport (1 will be left with officials on the river)

Things that you should probably bring

  1. sheets
  2.  towels
  3.  little seat pad for canoe (I have one that is like a sleep pad that keeps itself inflated
  4. Personal water purifier for emergency use

Mary-
What a great list!

  • Because it “never” rains in Tucson I don’t have a lightweight poncho.  So I’m off to Miller’s Surplus.  But because of my budget (very low) I will not be buying much, just packing a bunch of old stuff.  I’m not going to be “outfitted”.  Rubber boots I’ll buy in Iquitos.  A friend lent me her “safari ” pants when I went to Tanzania and they’re still hemmed up for me so she lent them again.  Too big, but great, lightweight.  I figure jeans will be too hot?  For Tanzania I was told to pack all tan,  as bugs liked bright colors and especially black and navy, so I’m using the same advice.   Here are some outfits that I won’t be wearing, although I bet those heels would be great in the Darvinia Amazonia Reserve.

 Trend: Urban safari
This year the sultry heat of the Sahara desert and the 1970s were the inspiration for many spring collections. Fashion Designers lined your wardrobe for a safari adventure with African field jackets, zebra and leopard prints, khaki, and chunky tribal jewelry. Hop on to this trend by picking up a safari suit and throwing an animal print accessory into your summer wardrobe.

  •  Aaron broke my mom’s binoculars when he was a kid, and I’ve never had any others.  Too expensive for me on today’s budget.  For a camera I’ll be using yours. 
  • Reading material may be a problem as I get all of my reading from the library, and I can’t check out stuff for a month.  What will you be reading?  Maybe I can read your cast-offs?
  • Also, I just have a desktop (and I bought the first one in my life this summer) so I hope you’ll let me use your netbook once a day for my blog.  (Doesn’t take too long – I usually write it out on paper – how old-fashioned – beforehand.)
  • But what are things useful to donate to classroom?  For adults, kids? 
  • I used to have a water purifier from when Al and I used to camp, but I can’t find it so maybe he took it.  Can I get away w/ not having one?
  • I think I’ll use my sleep pad as my little seat pad for canoe.

Lynne

  • No, you really should not need emergency purifier. I have never used mine. We always buy purified H2O to take with us to the camp.
  • Once we leave Iquitos there is no internet.
  • If you have any old paperbacks-I usually take a few- typically picked for a few cents at library. Jim usually has some books.
  • Do you speak Spanish?
  • School stuff is really anything – you can buy pencils very cheaply in Iquitos.
  • If you have any old clothes you are planning on donating to charity include them-the villagers have nothing- the women are small.

Mary

One Response to “Packing for the Amazon”

  1. James Says:

    We also bring our Thermos insulated travel mugs, and water proof scandals for use in the showers.

Leave a Reply

